2019 Lifetime Achievement Awards

Saturday, January 26, 2019
at the Loews Hollywood Hotel

2019 Lifetime Achievement Awards – January 26th, 2019

Purchase a seat for $260 or a table of ten seats for $2600 using the .pdf form below:
Download Seat Request Form
Email the above form to
socoffice@soc.org to secure your seat

The SOC Lifetime Achievements Awards are held every year at the Loews Hollywood Hotel to honor and strengthen the craft and creative contribution of the Camera Operator in our industry. The Awards are an exciting black-tie event that celebrates some of the most outstanding creative individuals through Lifetime Achievement Awards and our Camera Operator of the Year awards for Film and Television.

Included with your purchased seat is a hosted pre-reception, a three course sit down dinner, the Awards ceremony, a tribute book, and the after party at Preston’s in the Loews Hollywood. Please review the event information below for specifics on attending this one-of-a-kind event:

Event Timing
The Awards show is on Saturday, January 26th at the Loews Hollywood Hotel. There will be an after party hosted at Preston’s located inside the Loews Hollywood.

5:00pm : Hosted pre-reception and Red Carpet opens
5:45pm : Ballroom doors open
6:30pm : Dinner is served
7:30pm : Awards Ceremony starts
After Party, Preston’s Loews Hollywood Hotel immediately afterwards

Upon arrival, please make your way to the Hollywood Ballroom on the mezzanine level. Please either bring your confirmation, delivered through your confirmation email, on your phone or in hard copy, or bring a photo ID to check in and receive your table assignment.

Parking is available at the Loews Hollywood; valet for the fee of $22 or self-parking at the Hollywood and Highland complex, which is attached to the hotel, for $15.

Dress Code
The Awards show is black tie.

For out of town guests, the SOC has discounted room rates, $239,  at the Loews Hollywood. The room block is extremely limited as this hotel is often sold out. Book now, Reservations can be made no later than Friday, January 11th, 2019 by calling 1-855-563-9749 or online at: https://book.passkey.com/go/SOC2019.

Other Information
Please reach out to the SOC Office with any further questions; (818) 563-9110.

If you are interested in sponsorship or Tribute book advertising, please contact Derek Stettler (310) 409-9927 or Derek@SOC.org

We look forward to celebrating the art and craft of the operator and crew and to support our charity, The Vision Center at The Children’s Hospital Los Angeles.

Download Seat Request Form Now

2019 Society of Camera Operators Lifetime Achievement Awards timeline:

September 5- Sponsorship and Tribute Book reservations open
September 11 – Lifetime Nominees announced and voting opens
September 30 –  Lifetime voting closes
October 4 – Lifetime Recipients announced
October 12 – Technology Achievement Award submissions close
December 1 – Demo Day (technology submissions presented to committee) SOC offices, Burbank, CA
December 5 – Camera Operator of the Year Nominees, film & television closes
December 10 –   Technology Achievement Award Recipient(s) announced
January 10, 2019 – Camera Operator of the Year, film & television voting opens
January 15, 2019 – Tribute Book closes
January 18, 2019 –  Camera Operator of the Year, film and television voting closes (announced at awards)
January 25, 2019 –  VIP reception, Loews Hollywood Hotel
January 26, 2019 –  Lifetime Achievement Awards, Loews Hollywood Hotel

Society of Camera Operators Announces Lifetime Achievement Award for Technical Achievement

The Society of Camera Operators announces the recipient of its Lifetime Achievement Award for Technical Achievement to Cinemoves, MATRIX 4 Axis Stabilized Gimbal.

The Society hosted a full day of demonstrations with eleven technologies presented to the blue ribbon panel of judges, which was a group of award winning active members of the Society.

Cinemoves will be presented their Lifetime Achievement Awards on Saturday January 26, 2019 at The Loews Hollywood hotel, joining the industry in celebrating the best of the best in production and camera operating.

Society of Camera Operators Lifetime Achievement Awards Announce Governors Award Honoree Jane Fonda and President’s Award Honoree, Harrison Ford


The Society of Camera Operators (SOC) announce the honorees of the Lifetime Achievement Awards, Governors Award Recipient, Jane Fonda and President’s Award Recipient, Harrison Ford.

The Society is honored to be presenting the Lifetime Achievement awards to Ms. Fonda and Mr. Ford for their extraordinary body of work and collaboration and commitment to the art and craft of camera operating.

George Billinger III, SOC President, “We are honored to be presenting these awards to such legends in the entertainment industry. Their work has inspired so many of us and we are grateful for their extraordinary contributions to the business and creative community at large.”

Ms. Fonda and Mr. Ford will be presented their Lifetime Achievement awards on January 26, 2019 at the Loews Hollywood hotel.

We are proud to announce this year’s
Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees

The Lifetime Achievement Awards are given in recognition of outstanding achievement by a crafts person within the field of film and video production, who has at least twenty years experience.

The Honorees are:

Camera Operator: Dave Emmerichs, SOC
Camera Operator, Live & Nonscripted: Hector Ramirez
Camera Technician: Jimmy Jensen
Mobile Camera Platform Operator: John Mang
Still Photographer: Peter Iovino
Technical Achievement: Cinemoves, MATRIX 4 Axis Stabilized Gimbal
Camera Operator of the Year – Film Nominees:
Michael Fuchs, SOC – If Beale Street Could Talk
Matthew Moriarty, SOC – The Front Runner
Jody Miller – Beautiful Boy
P. Scott Sakamoto, SOC – A Star Is Born
Ricardo Sarmiento – BlacKkKlansman

Camera Operator of the Year – TV Nominees:
Mitch Dubin, SOC – Legion
Chris Haarhoff, SOC & Steven Matzinger, SOC– Westworld
Michael Heathcote, SOC – The Handmaid’s Tale
Gary Jay, SOC – House of Cards
Ben Semanoff, SOC – Ozark

Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients and all of the nominees!
The Society of Camera Operators is proud to announce their
Technical Achievement Award Jury.
The demo day will take place on Saturday December 1st at the SOC offices.  Details to follow!

Eric Fletcher, SOC – Technical Chair
Andrew Ansnick, SOC
Luke Cormack, SOC
Richard Davis, SOC
David Emmerichs, SOC
Mike Heathcote, SOC
Jamie Hitchcock, SOC
Mark LaBonge, SOC
Rocker Meadows
Manolo Rojas Moscopulos, SOC
David Sammons, SOC

Photos by Albert Ortega

View all the 2018 Photo Gallery

Watch the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Awards

Part 1

Opening Remarks, George Billinger, SOC
Mobile Camera Platform Operator Award, Mike Moad

Part 2

Technical Achievement Awards:
SHOTOVER, Brad Hurndell
That Cat, Phil Saad

Part 3

Still Photographer Award, Phillip Caruso

Part 4

Governors Award, Michael Keaton

Part 5

Camera Technician Award, Bobby Mancuso
CHLA Vision Center, Dr. Thomas C. Lee

Part 6

COY TV, Andrew Mitchell, SOC
COY Film, Ari Robbins, SOC

Part 7

Camera Operator Award, Garrett Brown, SOC